Nikitas J. Zervanos (5).png

Applications for the 2025 Zervanos Award are now open until July 24, 2024 


The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) and the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors (AFMRD) invite residency directors, program faculty, residents, and the AAFP constituent chapters to submit names for consideration each year for the Nikitas J. Zervanos Outstanding Program Director Award.

Nominees must: 

  • Be a current member of the AAFP and the AFMRD 
  • Be actively directing a family medicine program for at least ten years 
  • Nominees who actively directed a family medicine program for at least ten years who either transitioned into a new position or will be transitioning into a new position will be considered eligible to receive this award. Transitions must be within two years of the date the award is presented. 
  • Demonstrate leadership and advancement of the specialty 
  • Have served as a mentor to residents or medical students 
  • Have made contributions to the community they serve 
  • Have made contributions to the organizations of the family of family medicine 
  • Not be a current member of the AFMRD Board of Directors or the AAFP Commission on Education 
  • Not have served as a Board member of the AFMRD within the last year 
  • Have significant leadership experience at the national level 
  • Posthumous award may be considered if all above criteria is met 

Selection Process: A selection committee comprised of the AFMRD Board members will review applications and select a winner. The AFMRD then forwards their recommendation to the AAFP's Commission on Education for confirmation before forwarding to the AAFP Board for final confirmation. The official screening body is empowered to reject any nomination for what, in its opinion, is insufficient documentation. The award will be presented only if an outstanding candidate has been nominated. 

The recipient will be recognized during the Resident Leadership Summit in Kansas City, Missouri, and will receive free registration to the conference.